The Journey Begins

by halfthoughts

I’m starting this blog to document my gender journey. I don’t know where it ends- all I know is that it has already begun.

I know that I’m transitioning, but I don’t know exactly what I’m transitioning to.

For now I identify as non-binary/ gender queer/ somewhere in the middle. I’ve started to wear different clothes, change my hair, and use some gender neutral pronouns. But I don’t know what the rest of the transition is going to look like or how far it will go.

I don’t know if this stop in the middle is just a temporary rest point before heading all the way over to the “other side” of the binary. I don’t know how much of myself I’m going to “change” or “come out as.” And since so much of where I’m headed is uncertain, I’m not quite ready to be entirely public about things as I’m figuring it all out.

Thus the birth of this blog. A place for my half thoughts, my musings about myself, and perhaps a chance to interact with an online community as well. We’ll see how things unfold.

I’m hoping that as I begin to understand myself more and more, I’ll eventually get more comfortable being open about who I am.

But I’m not there yet. And that’s ok.

This is the space for me to explore, experiment, dialogue, rant, and get out all the rough drafts before I’m ready to publish the final version of myself.

Here’s to the journey.

